Olga Tañón A Puro Fuego

Get email alerts for Olga Tañón
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $9 (64% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  ZNL 6058
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: August 26, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Warner Music Latina


  • 1.Cuando Tu No Estas
  • 2.Asi es la Vida
  • 3.El Frio de Tu Adios
  • 4.Ahora Soy Mala
  • 5.Como Olvidar
  • 6.Entre la Noche y el Dia
  • 7.Es Mentiroso
  • 8.Presencie Tu Amor
  • 9.Vendras Llorando
  • 10.Me Cambio Por Ella
  • 11.Llego el Amor
  • 12.Muchacho Malo
  • 13.Ya Me Canse
  • 14.Mienteme

Product Description:

This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
Personnel: Olga Tanon (vocals); Mikey Perfecto (rap vocals); Bernd Schoenhart (guitar); Raul Agraz (trumpet); Jose Fiedler (trombone); Sergio George (piano, keyboards, programming); Roberto Quintero (percussion); DJ Kazzanova (programming).
Dethroned by dismayed merengue devotees who resented her obvious pop-crossover ambitions, onetime Queen Olga Ta¤¢n found herself in an uncomfortable position circa 2003, a half-decade after she began her rocky drift toward the middle of the road. Sure, she scored some big hits along the way ("Tu Amor," "Mi‚nteme," "Asi Es la Vida") and certainly broadened her appeal internationally because of her poppier mannerisms. Yet this success didn't match the success she experienced during the mid-'90s when she was recording strictly tropical music. In fact, each of Ta¤¢n's pop-crossover albums fared less well than its predecessor, and her latest, Sobrevivir, didn't even break the Top Ten of the Top Latin Albums chart, the first time since 1994 she hadn't done so. Hence the impeachment of the Queen of Merengue. Then in 2003 came A Puro Fuego, which seemed like an act of appeasement. It was Ta¤¢n's first beginning-to-end merengue album since Ll‚vame Contigo (1997), and it's probably the best beginning-to-end album in her entire discography -- to date, and probably ever after, too. That's because it's a compilation of her greatest merengues ever, topped off by two versions of a fantastic new song, "Cu ndo T£ No Estas." This new song, featured here in both tropical and reggaeton versions, is partly so fantastic because it teams Ta¤¢n with Sergio George, as sure-fire a hitmaker of this type as any. A Puro Fuego remarkably reaches all the way back to 1992 ("Me Cambio por Ella") in its quest to compile the ultimate merengue album by Ta¤¢n, and it does so perfectly, rounding up all the key songs, including such superlative barnburners as "As¡ Es la Vida [Versi¢n Merengue]," "El Fr¡o de T£ Ad¡os," "Como Olvidar [Versi¢n Merengue]," and "Entre la Noche y el D¡a." If unassuming observers mistook it for a new album, that would be understandable -- it had been a long time since Ta¤¢n had released an album like this -- and if those dismayed merengue devotees suddenly began to reconsider their dethronement of the Queen, well, that would be understandable, too. A Puro Fuego is indeed a persuasive declaration of peerlessness -- one assembled from the past, sure, but a peerless one all the same. Long live the Queen. ~ Jason Birchmeier
Rare and Out-of-Print CDs only $4.98

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 36,187
  • UPC: 825646058723
  • Shipping Weight: 0.16/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)