The Blues Is Alright, Volume 3
by Various Artists

The Blues Is Alright, Volume 3
Price: $11.80
You Save: $0.19 (2% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
sku:  36RVJ
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Economy Shipping
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Fast 'N Cheap Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping

CD Details

  • Released: October 25, 1990
  • Originally Released: 1989
  • Label: Malaco Records


  • 1.Get Your Money Where You Spend Your Time - Bobby "Blue" Bland
  • 2.Open House At My House - Z.Z. Hill
  • 3.Sunshine Lady - Latimore
  • 4.I Found A Love - Johnnie Taylor
  • 5.Annie Mae's Cafe - Little Milton
  • 6.Steal Away - Ted Taylor
  • 7.Something Is Going Wrong - Johnnie Taylor
  • 8.Big Boss Man - Jimmy Reed
  • 9.It Be's That Way Sometimes - Denise LaSalle
  • 10.Sunday Morning Love - Bobby "Blue" Bland
  • 11.Sweet Little Angel - B.B. King
  • 12.Down Home Blues - Z.Z. Hill
  • 13.End Of The Rainbow - McKinley Mitchell
  • 14.Blues Is Alright, The - Little Milton
  • 15.Your Husband Is Cheatin' On Us - Denise LaSalle
  • 16.Misty Blue - Dorothy Moore

Product Description:

There was clearly some serious care taken with this CD, at least as far as the track selection and the careful use of masters. Subtitled "Greatest Hits," this third in a four-volume series mostly lives up to that title and then some -- it's also the most generously programmed of the four, with a full 16 tracks. Opening with Bobby "Blue" Bland's soulful, soaring "Get Your Money Where You Spend Your Time," the collection lofts from there into several different directions, from Z.Z. Hill's rougher, more retro-oriented "Open House at My House" through to Latimore's smoother, more pop-focused "Sunshine Lady" (a track so pretty that it's almost worth the price of the CD by itself), Little Milton's bluesy "Annie Mae's Cafe," and Johnnie Taylor's gospel-flavored "I Found a Love." Of course, a lot of people, and even most novice listeners, will already have tracks like B.B. King's "Sweet Little Angel" in their collections (it's only on about 100 different releases), but for the casual listener or those not already immersed in soul-blues, this is a fine collection, and doubly so given the excellent sound. And given the latter, one would think the makers would have paid at least some attention to the packaging as well -- which points to the major flaw in this CD, the total absence of any annotation, or even of release dates, original labels, etc. It's still a great listen, more than once, but it's also a missed opportunity to say something about the music and, especially, some of the less well-remembered figures represented here. ~ Bruce Eder

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 23,003
  • UPC: 048021744923
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)