Cut Copy Free Your Mind

Mojo (Publisher): 3 stars out of 5 -- "'Meet Me In The House Of Love' presses all the right euphoric buttons."
Get email alerts for Cut Copy
3 ratings
Price: $8.30
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $3.69 (31% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
item number:  38V7H
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 5, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Republic

Entertainment Reviews:

"On their fourth LP, Aussie dance-rock idols Cut Copy have created yet another starry-eyed, synth pop universe in which they impeccably blend engaging melodies with good ol' disco beats..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.89
3 stars out of 5 -- "'Meet Me In The House Of Love' presses all the right euphoric buttons."


  • 1.(Intro)
  • 2.Free Your Mind
  • 3.We Are Explorers
  • 4.Let Me Show You Love
  • 5.(Into the Desert)
  • 6.Footsteps
  • 7.In Memory Capsule
  • 8.(Above the City)
  • 9.Dark Corners & Mountain Tops
  • 10.Meet Me in a House of Love
  • 11.Take Me Higher
  • 12.(The Waves)
  • 13.Walking in the Sky
  • 14.Mantra

Product Description:

Audio Mixer: Dave Fridmann.
Recording information: Adelphia Studios, Melbourne, Australia; CCHQ; Sing Sing, Melbourne, Australia.
After the release of their icy and heavily '80s-inspired In Ghost Colours in 2008, Cut Copy warmed up and expanded their sound to the point where they almost seem like a completely different band. 2011's Zonoscope was almost excessively bright and extroverted, with songs like "Where I'm Going" sounding like Jock Jams in comparison to the introspectively moody sound the band had previously established. Their 2013 album, Free Your Mind, is even bigger sounding and warmer. Taking tons of inspiration from the late-'80s and early-'90s club scene in the U.K. and touching on everything from the Hacienda-ready acid house to the thumping piano house of groups like Black Box, the album is a danceable love letter to the era. Almost every move the group makes is instantly familiar to anyone with any interest in that time period, but the band add more than enough of their own personality, as well as advanced skill at mixing and matching moods and feels, to keep it from being an empty exercise in nostalgia. Call it a full exercise instead. Influences and inspirations aside, what makes the album work is the sense of joy and upbeat emotion that the band, and especially vocalist Dan Whitford, inject into every nook of every song. Starting off with "Free Your Mind," a bongo and gospel backing vocal-filled empowerment jam so soft and fuzzy that even Primal Scream at their most "Come Together" dippy might find a bit much, and going from there, the record is light as a shiny helium balloon and filled with percolating house trax that should fill dancefloors (like the very Pet Shop Boys-sounding "Footsteps"), higher-than-the-sun electro-pop ("Dark Corners and Mountain Tops," which is like ELO gone full disco, "Take Me Higher"), and slowly grooving songs that are perfect fodder for late-night revelry (the K-Klass sampling "Let Me Show You Love"). Cut Copy may have left behind the monochromatic brilliance of their early work, but the explosion of colors they've added, like Jackson Pollock on a bender, has only made their growth more interesting and enriching. ~ Tim Sendra

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 602537538256
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)