Cat Stevens Roadsinger

Get email alerts for Cat Stevens
99 ratings
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 4 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  WQGS
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Economy Shipping
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Fast 'N Cheap Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: May 5, 2009
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Hip-O Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Billboard (p.63) - "The 11-tune collection marks Yusuf's harking back to his TEA FOR THE TILLERMAN/TEASER vein of reflective spiritual quest in a musical setting that is largely acoustic and intimate, recorded live with minimal overdubs."
Q (Magazine) - p.135
3 stars out of 5 -- "[A] set of finely crafted folk songs in the style of his 1970 breakthrough TEA FOR THE TILLEMAN....60-year-old Yusuf still has a message worth hearing."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.98
3 stars out of 5 -- "Recorded almost entirely live with a small group of players, most of these songs could have sprung from early 70s sessions, such is their alluringly familiar intimacy..."


  • 1.Welcome Home - (with Yusuf-(The Artist Known as Cat Stevens))
  • 2.Thinking 'Bout You - (with Yusuf-(The Artist Known as Cat Stevens))
  • 3.Everytime I Dream - (with Yusuf-(The Artist Known as Cat Stevens))
  • 4.Rain, The - (with Yusuf-(The Artist Known as Cat Stevens))
  • 5.World O' Darkness - (with Yusuf-(The Artist Known as Cat Stevens))
  • 6.To Be What You Must - (with Yusuf-(The Artist Known as Cat Stevens))
  • 7.This Glass World - (with Yusuf-(The Artist Known as Cat Stevens))
  • 8.Roadsinger - (with Yusuf-(The Artist Known as Cat Stevens))
  • 9.All Kinds Of Roses - (with Yusuf-(The Artist Known as Cat Stevens))
  • 10.Dream On (Until...) - (with Yusuf-(The Artist Known as Cat Stevens))
  • 11.Shansia - (with Yusuf-(The Artist Known as Cat Stevens))

Product Description:

Personnel: Yusuf (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, 12-string guitar, Spanish guitar, piano, organ, synthesizer, bass synthesizer, percussion); Yogi Lonich (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, bottleneck guitar); Martin Terefe (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, piano); David Davidson , David Angell (violin); Monisa Angell, Chris Wilkinson (viola); John Catchings, Anthony LaMarchina (cello); Jimmy Bowland (tenor saxophone); Jennifer Kummer (French horn); Chris McDonald (trombone); Gill Long (tuba); Pete Adams (piano, Wurlitzer organ); Kristoffer Sonne (drums, tambourine); Mark Clark (drums); Will Simmons (wind chime); James Morrison , Gunnar Nelson, Holly Williams, Michelle Branch, Terry Sylvester (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Thomas Juth; Martin Terefe ; Michael Brauer; Bill Szymczyk.
Recording information: East Iris Studio, Nashville, TN; Home Attic Studio, London, England; House Of Blues Studio, Los Angeles, CA; Islamia School, London, England; Jamal Studio, Dubai, Uae; Kensaltown Studio, London, England; Little Big Sound Studio, Nashville, TN.
Photographers: David Spero; Aminah Islam; Jesse Dylan; Yusuf .
Arranger: David Davidson .
ROADSINGER is the second album the artist formerly known as Cat Stevens (and before that, Steven Georgiou) has released in a secular, Western pop style since 1978, well before he embraced Islam, changed his name to Yusuf, and began releasing Islamic-oriented spoken-word and musical material. Like its 2006 predecessor, AN OTHER CUP, ROADSINGER harks back to the Cat Stevens who dominated the charts in the '70s with a warm, accessible folk-pop sound. And while the lyrics here are not without their spiritual content, there's nothing overt or denominational about it. Probably even less so than what you'd find on any given U2 album, for instance. The pace is mostly slow to moderate here, with a reflective tone prevailing, but then, his classic albums like TEA FOR THE TILLERMAN were never exactly about raving rockers either. Ultimately, ROADSINGER is all about Yusuf/Cat/Steven getting back to what he does best--agreeably earnest, unfailingly melodic, amiably easygoing, acoustic-based tunes whose weight can easily be obscured by their abundance of ear-catching hooks.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 57,458
  • UPC: 602527015774
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)