Virna Lindt Shiver (2-CD)

Shiver (2-CD)
CYBER WEEK SALE: $20.30 Limited Time Only
List Price: $21.98
You Save: $1.68 (8% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 8 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  6GEJY
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Economy Shipping
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Fast 'N Cheap Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: December 1, 2017
  • Originally Released: 1983
  • Label: Crepuscule

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Shiver
  • 2.I Experienced Love
  • 3.Pillow Talk
  • 4.Swedish Modern
  • 5.I Beat the System
  • 6.The Dossier on Virna Lindt
  • 7.Attention Stockholm
  • 8.Underwater Boy
  • 9.Letter to Sergei
  • 10.Intelligence

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Windmills of Your Mind
  • 2.Model Agent
  • 3.Young & Hip
  • 4.Man Talk
  • 5.Groom
  • 6.Episode 1
  • 7.Attention Stockholm (inst.)
  • 8.Shiver (inst.)
  • 9.The Dossier on Virna Lindt (inst.)
  • 10.Underwater Boy (inst.)
  • 11.Windmills of Your Mind (inst.)
  • 12.I Beat the System (inst.)
  • 13.Underwater Boy (Reprise)
  • 14.Intelligence (Hi IQ Mix)
  • 15.Trailers from Shiver

Product Description:

Personnel: Virna Lindt (piano, keyboards); Tot Taylor (guitar, strings, piano, synthesizer, vibraphone, drums, programming); Kristina Sandberg, Danne Morck, Keith Airey (guitar); Pernilla Holgersson (trumpet, drums); Boyd Rattle (synthesizer); Erik Blam (glockenspiel, chimes); Paul Bultitude, Jonny Fontaine (drums); Liv Lindt (percussion, sampler); Ann Malmsten (percussion).
Audio Remasterers: Chris Blair; Peter Beckmann.
Audio Remixers: Tot Taylor; Tony Harris.
Recording information: Keyboard Rigs, London; The Music Works, The Strongroom, Livingston.
Directors: Virna Lindt; Tot Taylor.
Photographers: Peter Ashworth; Lewis Ziolek; Toshi Yajima; Adrian Boot; Sheila Rock.
Thanks to the chance meeting of translation student Virna Lindt and Compact label guru Tot Taylor on a train, as the liner notes to the reissue of Shiver explain, Lindt and Compact first made its mark with the nervy John Barry-meets-new wave mania of "Attention Stockholm," the single which also leads off her debut album as a whole. Spy atmospherics permeate the album and not just in sound -- thus song titles like "The Dossier on Virna Lindt" and "Letter to Sergei." But while Lindt and her musical collaborators (led by Taylor, credited among other things with playing "Bond guitars") are definitely enamored of a mythical jet-set past where dapper secret agents are busy running around space age sets with a drink in hand, there's actually less per se retro about Shiver than many other albums that followed in its wake -- instead of simply cool styles, things at times feel nervous, jittery, a response to a time and place (early-'80s U.K. grimness, in the music scene and real life) that's of the moment. That said, the moody-start-of-the-film feeling of "Episode One" practically begs to soundtrack a sequence where Dirk Bogarde hauls a body out of the Seine. Lindt herself acts less as the lead singer and more as the narrator of her own adventures, a Modesty Blaise running rampant and occasional striking reflective poses amid orchestral swells and energetic percussion. When she does take a more formal lead singing role, she comes across as a bit light if not unpleasantly so, as on "Pillow Talk." Meantime, the jaunty piano-led kick of "I Beat the System" and the moody '70s rather than '60s lounge-ness of "Underwater Boy" shows that there's more here than a restrictive stereotype. ~ Ned Raggett

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 708527170717
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)