The Searchers Another Night: The Sire Recordings 1979-1981 (2-CD)

Another Night: The Sire Recordings 1979-1981
Get email alerts for The Searchers
Price: $25.30
List Price: $26.98
You Save: $1.68 (6% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  6GFAF
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: December 8, 2017
  • Originally Released: 2017
  • Label: Omnivore Recordings

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Hearts in Her Eyes
  • 2.Switchboard Susan
  • 3.Feeling Fine
  • 4.This Kind of Love Affair
  • 5.Lost in Your Eyes
  • 6.It's Too Late
  • 7.No Dancing
  • 8.Coming From the Heart
  • 9.Don't Hang On
  • 10.Love's Gonna Be Strong
  • 11.It's Too Late [Alternate Mix]
  • 12.Love's Melody [Alternate Mix]
  • 13.Silver [Alternate Mix]

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Silver
  • 2.Infatuation
  • 3.She Made a Fool of You
  • 4.Almost Saturday Night
  • 5.Little Bit of Heaven
  • 6.You Are the New Day
  • 7.Love's Melody
  • 8.Everything But a Heartbeat
  • 9.Radio Romance
  • 10.Murder in My Heart
  • 11.September Gurls
  • 12.Another Night
  • 13.Sick and Tired
  • 14.Changing
  • 15.Back to the War
  • 16.Ambulance Chaser

Product Description:

Personnel: Mike Pender (vocals, guitar); John McNally (guitar); Frank Allen (bass guitar); Billy Adamson (drums, percussion).
Liner Note Author: Scott Schinder.
Recording information: Rockfield Studios, Wales (04/1979-07/1979); Rockfield Studios, Wales (08/1980-10/1980).
Photographers: Peter Ashworth; Martin Poole.
The Searchers never quite went away but they did fall off the radar in the 1970s, failing to capture any momentum as they continued to tour and occasionally record. Their fortunes reversed in 1979, when they signed a contract with Sire Records. This wasn't necessarily out of the blue -- the times had shifted back to the ringing guitar pop that was their specialty during the British Invasion. Crucially, the Searchers didn't decide to re-create the sound of "Sugar and Spice" or "Needles and Pins," instead deciding to hitch their wagon to the power pop that emerged in the wave of pub rock, while taking a glance at the rise of new wave rockers in America. On their two records for the label -- 1979's The Searchers and 1981's Love's Melodies, which are collected on this double-disc Omnivore set, along with a host of rarities, including the unreleased "Ambulance Chaser" -- the group explores both of these sounds, primarily by covering songs from the heavy-hitters on both sides of the Atlantic. A lot of this music feels as if it were channeled through the prism of Nick Lowe and Dave Edmunds -- not specifically Rockpile, as the Searchers never rock that hard, but rather their productions; for instance, the cover of Ducks Deluxe's "Love's Melody" is as gorgeous and ornate as Edmunds' productions for latter-day Brinsley Schwarz, while the Searchers cover Mickey Jupp's "Switchboard Susan," which would be popularized on Lowe's Labour of Lust -- but there's an AOR bent to the production that suits a veteran group. Underneath that polish lies a nimble, versatile band with exceptional taste. Not only did they find songs from Will Birch and John Wicks of the Records ("Hearts in Her Eyes," as perfect a pop single as there is, plus the Birch co-writes "Everything But a Heartbeat" and "Radio Romance"), they dug up chestnuts from Tom Petty, John Hiatt, John Fogerty, and Moon Martin, and became the first prominent group to cover Big Star in 1981 when they cut "September Gurls." The Searchers mimicked the original arrangements, they bent the songs to suit their skills -- their recordings are layered with harmonies and the rhythms are supple -- and that dexterity is why Another Night: Sire Recordings 1979-1981 is such brilliant power pop: it has evident roots in the past but it's focused on the now, as all the best pop always is. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 126,973
  • UPC: 816651012732
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)