David Gilmour About Face

About Face
Get email alerts for David Gilmour
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  6E9GG
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: 1990
  • Originally Released: 1989
  • Label: Sony


  • 1.Until We Sleep
  • 2.Murder
  • 3.Love on the Air
  • 4.Blue Light
  • 5.Out of the Blue
  • 6.All Lovers Are Deranged
  • 7.You Know I'm Right
  • 8.Cruise
  • 9.Let's Get Metaphysical
  • 10.Near the End

Product Description:

Personnel: David Gilmour (vocals, guitar); Vicki Brown, Ray Harper, Roy Harper, Sam Brown, Mickey Feat (vocals); National Philharmonic Orchestra (strings); Simon Clerk, Barbara Snow, The Kick Horns, Roddy Lorimer, Andrew Clark , Simon Clarke, Tim Sanders (horns); Steve Winwood (piano, organ, keyboards); Ian Kewley (piano, keyboards); Steve Rance (keyboards, programming); Rob Ezrin, Bob Ezrin (keyboards); Jon Lord , Anne Dudley (synthesizer); Pino Palladino (bass guitar); Jeff Porcaro (drums, percussion); Louis Jardine, Ray Cooper , Luis Jardim (percussion).
Audio Mixer: James Guthrie .
Recording information: EMI Abbey Road Studios, London, England; Path‚ Marconi Studios, Paris, France; Pathe-Maconi Studios, Paris, France; Pathe-Marconi Studios, Paris, France.
Photographers: Jill Gurmanovsky; Jill Furmanovsky.
Unknown Contributor Role: Steve Rance.
Arrangers: Michael Kamen; Bob Ezrin.
This follow-up to David Gilmour's late '70s debut is a Bob Ezrin-produced post-WALL effort, and as such it incorporates the harder sounds Gilmour had become accustomed to during the WALL sessions. Written and released around the time of Roger Waters' exit from Pink Floyd, this album foreshadows the Floyd's future musical direction.
Combining layered vocals with a heavily looped guitar sound, "Until We Sleep" begins ABOUT FACE with an almost Byrds-like quality, while the gentleness of the acoustic opening to the ballad "Murder" disguises its homicidal subject matter. Both "Love On the Air," and "All Lovers are Deranged," are distinguished by lyrics written by Pete Townshend, and "Blue Light" is an attempt at funk with a Floydian flavor. Gilmour's strength at ballad writing is evidenced in "Out of the Blue," while the obligatory instrumental is "Let's Get Metaphysical." The album closer is, appropriately enough, the song "Near the End." All in all an essential album in any Floyd fan's collection.

Product Info

  • UPC: 074643929622
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)