COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!

Wilson Pickett In The Midnight Hour

Get email alerts for Wilson Pickett
5 ratings
MASSIVE CD SALE: $8.98 Limited Time Only
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $3.99 (31% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 6335
Brand New
Products with a similar style:
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Atlantic 8114 (1965)

Description by

Originally released by Atlantic Records in 1965, "In The Midnight Hour" was Wilson Pickett's first album. It includes his classic song of the same name, as well as "Come Home Baby," "I Found A Love," "Don't Fight It" and others. On this album, he is backed by the Stax rhythm section, an ensemble that would be help define soul music during much of the 1960s. This album hit #3 on the Billboard Black Albums' chart, and the song "Don't Fight It" charted at #53 on their Pop Singles' chart and #4 on the Black Singles' chart.


  • 1.In The Midnight Hour
  • 2.Teardrops Will Fall
  • 3.Take A Little Love
  • 4.For Better Or Worse
  • 5.I Found A Love
  • 6.That's A Man's Way
  • 7.I'm Gonna Cry
  • 8.Don't Fight It
  • 9.Take This Love I've Got
  • 10.Come Home Baby
  • 11.I'm Not Tired
  • 12.Let's Kiss And Make Up

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Wilson Pickett (vocals); Cornell Dupree, Robert Ward, Lance Finnie, Wally Richardson, Steve Cropper (guitar); Joe Grimaldi, Charles "Packy" Axton (tenor saxophone); Haywood Henry, Floyd Newman (baritone saxophone); Clark Terry, Jack Cortner, Ernie Royal (trumpet); Tony Studd (bass trombone); Ivory Joe Hunter, Paul Griffin, Joe Hall (piano); Jimmy Lewis, Donald "Duck" Dunn (bass); Ted Sommer, Al Jackson, Panama Francis (drums).
Recorded between 1961 & 1965. Originally released on Atlantic (8114). Includes liner notes by A. Scott Galloway.
Wilson Pickett's first Atlantic album, IN THE MIDNIGHT HOUR, is actually a collection of singles recorded between 1961 and '65 (the year of the record's release). Even on the earliest track, "I Found a Love"--recorded by the Falcons, Pickett's first group, which also featured star-to-be Eddie Floyd--the singer's fierce, gospel-influenced style seems fully formed. Two other singles by the Falcons are included here, as are the R&B hit "Don't Fight It," "I'm Gonna Cry" (co-penned by Don Covay), and numerous tracks with the Stax rhythm section (who helped craft some of the finest soul music of the '60s).
Pickett co-authored almost every song on the collection with a host of other songwriters. One such collaboration was with Stax session guitarist Steve Cropper, which yielded "I'm Not Tired," the aforementioned "Don't Fight It," and the magnificent title track. An all-time soul classic, "In the Midnight Hour" boasts a loping bass line, punchy horn charts, and fiery vocals that have been reverently replicated by thousands of bands. Pickett's original, however, stands untouched. Verging on the brilliance of his follow-up, THE EXCITING WILSON PICKETT, IN THE MIDNIGHT HOUR is an excellent sampler of this soulster's early work.
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 34,950
  • UPC: 090431633526
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)