Billy Joel A Matter of Trust: The Bridge to Russia (Live) [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD + DVD)

Get email alerts for Billy Joel
List Price: $29.98
You Save: $1.98 (7% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  39F8Y
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: May 19, 2014
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Sony

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Odoya
  • 2.Prelude / Angry Young Man
  • 3.Honesty
  • 4.Billy the Kid
  • 5.She's Always a Woman
  • 6.Scenes From an Italian Restaurant
  • 7.Goodnight Saigon
  • 8.Stiletto
  • 9.Big Man On Mulberry Street
  • 10.Baby Grand
  • 11.What's Your Name
  • 12.The Longest Time
  • 13.An Innocent Man

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Pressure
  • 2.Allentown
  • 3.A Matter of Trust
  • 4.Only the Good Die Young
  • 5.It's Still Rock and Roll To Me
  • 6.Sometimes a Fantasy
  • 7.You May Be Right
  • 8.Uptown Girl
  • 9.Big Shot
  • 10.Back In the U.S.S.R.
  • 11.The Times They Are a-Changin'
  • 12.She Loves You [Rehearsal Take]
  • 13.New York State of Mind [Rehearsal Take]
  • 14.Piano Man [Rehearsal Take]

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Opening
  • 2.The Cold War and Van Cliburn
  • 3.The Story Behind the Tour
  • 4.Tblisi, Georgia
  • 5.Moscow: the Concerts
  • 6.Alexa
  • 7.Viktor the Clown
  • 8.Pressure
  • 9.Vladimir Vysotsky
  • 10.Leningrad: the Concerts
  • 11.Rethinking the Cold War
  • 12.Billy Goes Crowd Surfing
  • 13."Opening the Gates"
  • 14.We Have Friends Here
  • 15.End Credits
  • 16.Opening Montage
  • 17.Prelude / Angry Young Man
  • 18.Allentown
  • 19.Goodnight Saigon
  • 20.Big Man On Mulberry Street
  • 21.Baby Grand
  • 22.Innocent Man
  • 23.Honesty
  • 24.The Longest Time
  • 25.A Matter of Trust
  • 26.Only the Good Die Young
  • 27.It's Still Rock and Roll To Me
  • 28.Sometimes a Fantasy
  • 29.You May Be Right
  • 30.Uptown Girl
  • 31.Big Shot
  • 32.Back In the U.S.S.R.
  • 33.End Credits
  • 34.Pressure

Product Description:

Personnel: Billy Joel (vocals, keyboards); Russell Javors (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Pete Hewlett (electric guitar, background vocals); Kevin Dukes (electric guitar); Marc Rivera, Mark Rivera (saxophone); Dave Lebolt (keyboards); Liberty DeVitto (drums); George Simms (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Frank Filipetti; Jim Boyer ; Kabir Hermon; Alan Silverman; Steve Rosenthal; Bradshaw Leigh; Brian Ruggles.
Liner Note Authors: Gary Graff; Neal Preston; Wayne Robins; Michael Jensen ; Rona Elliot; Arthur Levy .
Recording information: Djvari Monastery, Tibilisi (1987); The Music Ring (1987).
Directors: Jim Brown ; Martin Bell; Wayne Isham.
Editors: Pat Murphy ; Alex Noschese; Don Wilson ; Jonathan Oppenheim; Lisa Hendricks; Mike Salomon.
Photographers: Neal Preston; Martin Bell; Suzanne Javors; Billy Joel; Mark Rivera; Russell Javors.
Translator: Oleg Smirnoff.
As Mikhail Gorbachev's Glasnost warmed relations between the East and West, Billy Joel was invited to be the first American rocker to perform in the Soviet Union. In the throes of his supporting tour for 1986's The Bridge, Joel jumped at the chance and performed three shows apiece in Moscow and Leningrad, along with an acoustic show in Tbilisi, in the summer of 1987. This tour was documented on the rush-released 1987 live album Kohuept but the 2014 set A Matter of Trust: The Bridge to Russia goes deep, expanding the original double LP/single CD to a double-disc 27-track set, adding 12 unreleased cuts (including a version of the Beatles' "She Loves You" taken from rehearsals), plus a DVD containing video of the full concert and the documentary film A Matter of Trust. This movie, helmed by Emmy winner Jim Brown, does an admirable job of placing Billy's Russian tour in historical context and is often more interesting than the album it supports. The 1987 concert, whether in its original Kohuept incarnation or this expanded double-disc edition, does capture a well-oiled band at its stadium-pleasing best and the set list -- anchored with the classics, featuring three songs from The Bridge, hard rockers tailored for an arena, covers of Beatles and Dylan, plus a doo wop interlude -- is satisfying. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 124,626
  • UPC: 888837597623
  • Shipping Weight: 0.64/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)