Temptation: Music From the Showtime Series Californication
by Various Artists

Temptation: Music From the Showtime Series
7 ratings
MASSIVE CD SALE: $18.10 Limited Time Only
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $0.88 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 4 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  CK6F
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Fast 'N Cheap Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: June 3, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Abkco


  • 1.You Can't Always Get What You Want
  • 2.Mojo
  • 3.Rocket Man
  • 4.L.A. Woman - (Paul Oakenfold Remix, remix)
  • 5.Light of Day
  • 6.If You See Her, Say Hello
  • 7.Little Round Mirrors
  • 8.Don't Let Us Get Sick
  • 9.Paranoid
  • 10.A Girl Like You
  • 11.Mohammed's Radio
  • 12.Surrender
  • 13.That Kind of Man
  • 14.Keep On
  • 15.Reconsider Me
  • 16.Only Women Bleed
  • 17.High Flying Bird
  • 18.You Can't Always Get What You Want
  • 19.Hank's Theme
  • 20.Main Title Theme

Product Description:

Editor: Teri Landi.
Photographer: Randy Tepper.
The premium cable television series Californication, starring David Duchovny as "a sexually obsessed Los Angeles writer" (as a press release puts it) employed a lot of classic rock in its first season, some but not all of it in the original recordings by the original artists. Thus, this soundtrack album, confusingly titled Temptation: Music from the Showtime Series Californication, makes use of some expensive licensing of music by the likes of Bob Dylan and Elton John (the Rolling Stones' track "You Can't Always Get What You Want" didn't have to be licensed because the album is on ABKO Records, which controls the Stones' pre-1971 catalog), plus some interesting cover versions of well-known songs. In some cases, the cover artists have gone for similar if not identical arrangements, as an act called "Tommy Stinson & Friends for Done to Death" does on another version of "You Can't Always Get What You Want," and in other cases they try an entirely different reading to bring out other aspects of the song, such as Gus Black's ballad performance of Black Sabbath's "Paranoid." A special case is Warren Zevon, whose Southern California bad boy persona seems perfect for the show (too bad he didn't survive to score it). Zevon himself is heard in a live recording of "Mohammed's Radio," while Madeleine Martin handles "Don't Let Us Get Sick" and Steve Earle sings "Reconsider Me." All of these songs contain appropriate sentiments for the series. A couple of examples of Tyler Bates and Tree Adams' rock-oriented background score conclude the disc. ~ William Ruhlmann
ABKCO Music & Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 110,310
  • UPC: 018771925521
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)