COVID-19: In accordance with the directives of government and health authorities, we have temporarily suspended operations. Please read our full statement

Dave Brubeck Time Further Out - Two Original Albums (Time Further Out / The Riddle) (2-CDs)

17 Original Recordings on 2-CDs... Two Original Albums
Get email alerts for Dave Brubeck
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $7.20 (52% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 4 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  ZNOT 433
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: 2012
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Not Now Music

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - 3/97, p.109
"'s all here ready to replace your scratchy LP..."


  • 1.It's a Raggy Waltz
  • 2.Bluette
  • 3.Charles Matthew Hallelujah
  • 4.Far More Blue
  • 5.Far More Drums
  • 6.Maori Blues
  • 7.Unsquare Dance
  • 8.Bru's Boogie Woogie
  • 9.Blue Shadows In The Street
  • 10.Hey, Ho, Anybody Home?
  • 11.The Twig
  • 12.Blue Ground
  • 13.Offshoot
  • 14.Swingin' 'Round
  • 15.Quiet Mood
  • 16.The Riddle
  • 17.Yet We Shall Be Merry

Product Description:

Dave Brubeck Quartet: Dave Brubeck (piano); Paul Desmond (alto saxophone); Eugene Wright (bass); Joe Morello (drums).
Producer: Teo Macero.
Reissue producer: Russell Gloyd.
Recorded in New York, New York between May 3 and June 8, 1961. The bonus live track was recorded at Carnegie Hall, New York, New York in 1963. Includes liner notes by Dave Brubeck.
Digitally remastered by Mark Wilder (Sony Music Studios, New York, New York).
TIME OUT is Dave Brubeck's most popular album and one of the most famous small-group jazz recordings of all time. The 1959 LP features the odd-metered hit "Take Five" (penned by saxophonist Paul Desmond), which became a calling card for the pianist. As a 1961 follow-up to TIME OUT, Brubeck and his band decided to work from that album's momentum and record a musical sequel. The result was an ambitious nine-part blues suite called TIME FURTHER OUT: MIRO REFLECTIONS. (The latter part of the title is a tribute to the renowned painter Joan Miro, whose work is featured on the cover.)
Not surprisingly, TIME FURTHER OUT continues where TIME OUT left off. For example, Brubeck's "Far More Blue" and "Far More Drums," are both reminiscent of "Take Five." The latter even includes a long drum solo by percussionist extraordinaire Joe Morello. "Unsquare Dance" continues the trend toward odd meters, and serves as a kind of lopsided hoedown, replete with handclaps and a funky bass groove. Much of the remaining album is in waltz time, including the ballads "Bluette," "Blue Shadows in the Street," and "It's a Raggy Waltz" (which is reprised as a live bonus track on the 1996 reissue).
Import CDs from Not Now and One Day Music

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 36,978
  • EAN: 5060143494338
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To contact customer service, email us at
Closed for COVID-19