COVID-19: In accordance with the directives of government and health authorities, we have temporarily suspended operations. Please read our full statement

Ray Charles Modern Sounds in Country & Western Music Vol. 1 & 2, with Bonus Tracks (2-CD)

Rolling Stone: Ranked #104 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time" - "[A] model of folk-pop healing music..."
Get email alerts for Ray Charles
SALE: $6.78
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $7.20 (52% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  ZNOT 539
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: 2014
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Not Now Music

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 12/11/03, p.120
Ranked #104 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time" - "[A] model of folk-pop healing music..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Bye Bye, Love
  • 2.You Don't Know Me
  • 3.Half As Much
  • 4.I Love You so Much It Hurts
  • 5.Just A Little Lovin'
  • 6.Born To Lose
  • 7.Worried Mind
  • 8.It Makes No Difference Now
  • 9.You Win Again
  • 10.Careless Love
  • 11.I Can't Stop Loving You
  • 12.Hey Good Lookin'
  • 13.I'm Movin' On
  • 14.Leave My Woman Alone
  • 15.Unchain My Heart

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.You Are My Sunshine
  • 2.No Letter Today
  • 3.Someday (You'll Want Me To Want You)
  • 4.Don't Tell Me Your Troubles
  • 5.Midnight
  • 6.Oh, Lonesome Me
  • 7.Take These Chains From My Heart
  • 8.Your Cheating Heart
  • 9.I'll Never Stand In Your Way
  • 10.Making Believe
  • 11.Teardrops In My Heart
  • 12.Hang Your Head In Shame
  • 13.Georgia On My Mind
  • 14.Carry Me Back To Old Virginny
  • 15.Deep In The Heart of Texas

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Ray Charles (vocals, piano); David "Fathead" Newman (saxophone).
Enginners include: Gene Thompson, Bill Putnam, Johnny Cue.
Recorded in 1962-1963 at Capitol Studios, New York, New York; United Recording Studios, Hollywood, California; RPM International Studios, Los Angeles, California. Includes liner notes by Todd Everett.
When Ray Charles made Modern Sounds in Country and Western Music in 1962, he was operating from a position of power. Two years into his contract with ABC-Paramount, he had already become a fixture in the Top Ten with both his singles and his albums, winning a Grammy for his 1960 single "Georgia on My Mind." Charles had freedom to do whatever he wanted, and he chose to record interpretations of 12 country songs, drawing almost equally from recent hits and older standards. The sly virtuosity within Charles' approach was to treat these tunes as a a songbook to be reinvented, not as songs that were tied to their rural roots. Later, Charles explained that he saw little difference between a country tune and a blues song -- they draw from the same emotions and musical traditions -- but the striking thing about his interpretations on Modern Sounds in Country and Western is that he's not concentrating on the earthier elements of either genre. He's fully focused on playing these songs as he'd play any other, grounding them in jazz and soul, then dressing them in arrangements designed to snag a crossover audience. To latter-day generations, those arrangements -- thick with strings and backing vocals -- may sound slightly schlocky, yet even in 1962 they were a sign of how Charles was as intent on appealing to a mainstream easy listening demographic as he was to his soul and jazz audience. That's the brilliance of the project: it is thoroughly American pop music, blending seemingly disparate elements in a fashion that seems simultaneously universal and idiosyncratic.
Audiences quickly embraced Modern Sounds in Country Music, which lead Charles and producer Sid Feller to record a sequel immediately, rushing it onto the marketplace of October 1962, just six months after the first hit the stars. Time has eroded the differences between the two LPs, and perhaps inevitably so: the two share the same sensibility and arrangers, with the difference being the second volume separates the big band tunes on one side, with the strings and choirs on the other. It's a notable distinction, but the main difference between the two albums is that the first volume retains a sense of discovery, whereas the second is made with the confidence that this particular formula works. In either case, the two albums -- whether heard individually or as a pair, as they so often are -- aren't so much complements but of a piece, music that changed the course of popular music and remains a testament to the genius of Ray Charles. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Similar Products


Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 45,405
  • UPC: 5060143495397
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To contact customer service, email us at
Closed for COVID-19