Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band Together

Mojo (Publisher): 3 stars out of 5 - "[J]uxtaposing earthy R&B with whimsical pseudo-psychedelic covers....An interesting exhumation for funk aficionados."
Get email alerts for Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band
MASSIVE CD SALE: $7.98 Limited Time Only
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $4.99 (38% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 6559
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Fast 'N Cheap Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Warner Bros. WS1761 (1968)

Description by OLDIES.com:

The Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band were one of the biggest influences in morphing soul into funk in the late 60s and early 70s. Together was originally released in 1968 by Warner Bros. and it features there covers of the Rolling Stones' "(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction" and James Brown's "Papa's Got A Brand New Bag."


  • 1.Sorry Charlie
  • 2.Something You Got
  • 3.65 Bars And A Taste Of Soul
  • 4.Papa's Got A Brand New Bag
  • 5.(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction
  • 6.A Dance, A Kiss And A Song
  • 7.Phuncky Bill
  • 8.Get Ready
  • 9.Stormy Monday
  • 10.Giggin' Down 103rd
  • 11.My Summer's Gone
  • 12.Knock On Wood
  • 13.I Wake Up Crying
  • 14.Do Your Thing

Product Description:

Personnel: Charles Wright (vocals, guitar); Al McKay (vocals, guitar); John Rayford (vocals, tenor saxophone); Joe Banks (vocals, trumpet); James Gadson (vocals, drums); Bill Cannon (tenor saxophone); Gabriel Flemings (trumpet); Ray Jackson (trombone, congas).
Recording information: 1968.
Photographer: George Whiteman.
Arrangers: Gabriel Flemings; Ray Jackson.
Released in 1968, the second album from the Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band finds Charles Wright and company still trying to translate their nightclub and singles success into record album sales. The standout cut is "Do Your Thing," a simmering call to the dancefloor that plays on the strengths of this very tight band, slowly building into an undeniable groove; the record-buying public thought similarly, pushing "Do Your Thing" to number 11 on the Billboard charts. About a third of Together follows in this funky groove: "Giggin' Down 103rd," "Sorry Charlie," and the sax feature "Phuncky Bill." There are some covers here too, the mid-show cool down of "Stormy Monday," a tip of the hat to JB with "Papa's Got a Brand New Bag," and a 200 mph run-through of Eddie Floyd's "Knock on Wood." The rest of the album is made up of mid-tempo soul with a loping, Southern feel that doesn't stand out so much because of what is played but how it's played. The Watts band was a monster with James Gadson on drums, Melvin Dunlap on bass, Al McKay on guitar, and a fearsome horn section too, with special mention going to Bill Cannon here for the previously mentioned "Phuncky Bill." Gadson and McKay would go on to join Earth, Wind & Fire while Dunlap joined Bill Withers' band. Together shows a band on the way to its peak, a point they wouldn't reach until the release of Express Yourself in 1970, but listening to them get there is half the fun. ~ Wade Kergan
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 43,782
  • UPC: 090431655924
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)