Wings Over America (3LPs Red/Green/Blue Colored Vinyl)

Get email alerts for Paul McCartney
Price: $45.60
List Price: $53.99
You Save: $8.39 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Format:  Vinyl LP
item number:  6V4KW
on most orders of $75+
New Condition

Vinyl LP Details

  • Released: July 12, 2019
  • Originally Released: 2019
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - 7/01, p.64
"...Documents the group at its commercial peak..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Let 'Em In
  • 2.Band On The Run
  • 3.Hi, Hi, Hi
  • 4.Beware My Love

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Maybe I'm Amazed
  • 2.Call Me Back Again
  • 3.Lady Madonna
  • 4.The Long And Winding Road
  • 5.Live And Let Die

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Picasso's Last Words
  • 2.Richard Cory
  • 3.Bluebird
  • 4.I've Just Seen A Face
  • 5.Blackbird
  • 6.Yesterday

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.You Gave Me The Answer
  • 2.Magneto And Titanium Man
  • 3.Go Now
  • 4.My Love
  • 5.Listen To What The Man Said

Product Description:

Wings: Paul McCartney (vocals, guitar, piano, bass); Denny Laine (vocals, guitar, piano, bass); Jimmy McCullough (guitar, bass, background vocals); Linda McCartney (keyboards, background vocals); Joe English (vocals, drums).
Additional personnel: Thadeus Richard (flute, clarinet, saxophone); Howie Casey (saxophone); Steve Howard (trumpet, flugelhorn); Tony Dorsey (trombone).
Engineers include: Jack Maxson, Mark Vigars, Tom Walsh.
When McCartney formed Wings back in 1971, it was intended to be a touring unit as much as a recording one. After spending the latter half of his time with the Beatles confined to the studio, McCartney was itching to get back onto the road. By the time September 1975 rolled around, Wings' tours had been on the modest side. This latest one would last over a year and take the band around the world. The triple-album WINGS OVER AMERICA was recorded during this time and despite its heft, the performances within contained no filler and were bristling with energy from start to finish.
Wings' secret weapon was guitarist Jimmy McCulloch, an underrated musician whose playing lit up the opening medley of "Venus And Mars/Rock Show/Jet" and "Hi Hi Hi." Along with material from a mix of Wings albums, McCartney proudly revisited his past by dusting off latter-day Beatles songs which had previously been studio-only manifestations ("Lady Madonna," "Blackbird"). WINGS OVER AMERICA clearly showed that McCartney was the first Beatle to settle comfortably into touring regularly in addition to dealing well with his musical past.
Vinyl LPs

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 33,960
  • UPC: 602577288791
  • Shipping Weight: 1.95/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)