COVID-19: In accordance with the directives of government and health authorities, we have temporarily suspended operations. Please read our full statement

South Saturn Delta

Get email alerts for Jimi Hendrix
Price: $7.30
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  6HF34
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: January 15, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 10/10/97, p.93
"...a career-spanning assortment of nifty arcana. Although a few tracks have appeared elsewhere, DELTA holds enough unexpected make the average Jimi freak kiss the sky."
- Rating: A-


  • 1.Look Over Yonder
  • 2.Little Wing (Angel)
  • 3.Here He Comes (Lover Man)
  • 4.South Saturn Delta
  • 5.Power Of Soul
  • 6.Message To The Universe (Message To Love)
  • 7.Tax Free
  • 8.All Along The Watchtower
  • 9.The Stars That Play With Laughing Sam's Dice
  • 10.Midnight
  • 11.Sweet Angel (Angel)
  • 12.Bleeding Heart (Peoples, Peoples, People)
  • 13.Pali Gap
  • 14.Drifter's Escape
  • 15.Midnight Lightning

Product Description:

SOUTH SATURN DELTA includes 14 songs that were never before released on domestic CD, 10 of which were previously unavailable anywhere.
Personnel: Jimi Hendrix (vocals, guitar, bass); Dave Mason (12-string guitar); Larry Lee (guitar); Noel Redding, Billy Cox (bass, background vocals); Buddy Miles (drums, percussion, background vocals); Mitch Mitchell (drums, background vocals); Larry Faucette, Juma Sultan, Jerry Velez, Brian Jones (percussion).
Producers: Jimi Hendrix, Chas Chandler, Eddie Kramer, Mitch Mitchell, John Jansen.
Compilation producers: Jane Hendrix, Eddie Kramer, John McDermott.
Engineers: Angel Balestier, Eddie Kramer, Bob Hughes, Gary Kellgren, Jack Adams.
Recorded from July 9, 1967 to August 22, 1970. Includes liner notes by John McDermott.
Digitally remastered by Eddie Kramer and George Marino at Sterling Sound, New York, New York.
Although a slew of posthumous scrapings from the Hendrix catalog have cluttered the market in the past, SOUTH SATURN DELTA is a thoroughly researched collection that is anything but slap-dash. The detailed liner notes document the fascinating creative processes this virtuoso went through in his native element: the studio. Enlightening moments abound, such as an early instrumental version of "Little Wing" that has the basic rhythmic structure of "Angel," which is also represented as a demo entitled "Sweet Angel" featuring Hendrix on all instruments.
This disc also provides insight into the different musical roads Hendrix's muse led him down. John Lee Hooker and Lightnin' Hopkins's influences can be felt in Hendrix's solo take on "Midnight Lightning." The title track demonstrates an attempt to integrate horns into his sound, reflecting an unrealized desire to eventually head in more of a jazz direction.

Similar Products


Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 71,909
  • UPC: 887654361721
  • Shipping Weight: 0.18/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To contact customer service, email us at
Closed for COVID-19