Percy Faith Subways Are For Sleeping / Do I Hear A Waltz

Get email alerts for Percy Faith
5 ratings
SALE: $11.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $2.99 (20% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 7480
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Columbia CS-8533 (1961)
  • Original Album #2: Columbia CS-9117 (1965)

Description by

Collectables brings the opportunity to hear Percy's instrumental enhancements to tunes from two of Broadway's under-recognized musicals. Jules Styne's "Subways Are For Sleeping" from 1961 is a collection of show-stopper tunes, melodies that can occupy your mind for days! Richard Rodger's "Do I Hear A Waltz?" brings up a show not well known, but worth remembering and discovering, as it contains some beautiful tunes, and perhaps Percy Faith at the zenith of his arranging career. (Bill Halvorsen)


  • 1.Ride Through The Night
  • 2.I'm Just Taking My Time
  • 3.When You Help A Friend Out
  • 4.Who Knows What Might Have Been?
  • 5.I Just Can't Wait
  • 6.Getting Married
  • 7.Be A Santa
  • 8.How Can You Describe A Face?
  • 9.Comes Once In A Lifetime
  • 10.Now I Have Someone
  • 11.I Said It And I'm Glad
  • 12.What Is This Feeling In The Air?
  • 13.Do I Hear A Waltz?
  • 14.Here We Are Again
  • 15.Moon In My Window
  • 16.This Week Americans
  • 17.Someone Like You
  • 18.We're Gonna Be All Right
  • 19.No Understand
  • 20.Take The Moment
  • 21.Thinking
  • 22.A Perfectly Lovely Couple
  • 23.Stay
  • 24.Thank You So Much

Product Description:

Liner Note Authors: Curtis Brown; Percy Faith.
Recording information: 10/16/1961-02/18/1965.
This two-fer from Collectables features a pair of out-of-print Percy Faith LPs, Subways Are for Sleeping and Do I Hear a Waltz, originally issued in 1961 and 1965, respectively. The flowing combination of these Broadway scores, by Jule Styne and Rodgers/Sondheim, provide a continuity that can sometimes be jarring when combined on two-fers. Highlights of the 24 tracks include "Who Knows What Might Have Been?," "I Said It and I'm Glad," "Someone Like You," and "A Perfectly Lovely Couple." This is an enjoyable and recommended reissue from the massive Percy Faith catalog originally released on Columbia Records. ~ Al Campbell

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Subways Are For Sleeping Percy Faith Music Lover: from Honolulu HI. -- September, 26, 2006

I did not recognize most of the songs, but I found that it made no difference, it sounded terrific. I was raised with this kind of music I just can't stay away from it. You can't go wrong with this, the price is right, and plenty of tracts.

Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 35,076
  • UPC: 090431748022
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)