The Philadelphia Orchestra Fantasia (Original Film Soundtrack) (2-CD)

Get email alerts for The Philadelphia Orchestra
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Hurry! Only a few copies left
Sorry no back-orders
Format:  CD
sku:  GG 884
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 16, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Hallmark UK


  • 1.Symphony No. 6, Op. 68: Allegro Ma Non Troppo
  • 2.Symphony No. 6, Op. 68: Andante Molto Moss
  • 3.Symphony No. 6, Op. 68: Allegro / Allegro / Allegretto
  • 4.Dance of the Hours [From "La Gioconda"]
  • 5.Night on Bald Mountain
  • 6.Ave Maria, Op. 52 No. 6

Product Description:

Originally envisaged as a nine minute short, based around Mickey Mouse performing the Sorcerer's Apprentice, both the budget and the project grew to become one of Walt Disney's grandest releases. Whilst most animated shorts were produced on a budget of $30,000, the Disney studio routinely spent $40,000, yet the segment for the Sorcerer's Apprentice came in at $125,000! Realizing that they would never make their money back as the clip stood, they decided to build a film around it, with the final budget coming in at $2.2 million, of which $400,000 was spent on the recording alone. The eight classical pieces are used to tell the story in the film - there is no dialogue - and was perhaps too far ahead of it's time when originally released. Indeed, the money spent on Fantasia was such that Walt Disney needed it to make a quick profit; when it didn't, Disney quickly turned out Dumbo, which rescued the ailing finances of the company.

Similar Products


Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 87,636
  • UPC: 5050457207526
  • Shipping Weight: 0.43/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)