Jimmy Jones 1946-1947

Get email alerts for Jimmy Jones
MASSIVE CD SALE: $21.40 Limited Time Only
List Price: $22.98
You Save: $1.58 (7% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
13 copies available
Format:  CD
sku:  6W58A
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Fast 'N Cheap Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping

CD Details

  • Released: July 14, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Melodie Jazz Classic


  • 1.Old Juice on the Loose
  • 2.Departure from Dixie
  • 3.A Woman's Got a Right to Change Her Mind
  • 4.Muddy Miss
  • 5.Come Sunday
  • 6.Birth of the Blues
  • 7.Five O'Clock Drag
  • 8.New World A-Comin'
  • 9.I Remember Your Eyes
  • 10.Lazy River
  • 11.Empty Space
  • 12.What's New
  • 13.When I Walk with You
  • 14.I'll See You Again
  • 15.Mad About the Boy
  • 16.Someday I'll Find You
  • 17.Zigeuner
  • 18.Clair de Lune
  • 19.Lover Man
  • 20.New York City Blues
  • 21.On a Turquoise Cloud
  • 22.Bakiff
  • 23.Sunny Side Up
  • 24.Strollin' Easy
  • 25.Keeping Up with Jones
  • 26.Weeta

Product Description:

Includes tracks originally released on H.M.S. Records and Wax Records.
Personnel includes: Jimmy Jones (piano); Joe Thomas, Lawrence Brown, Otto Hardwick, Ted Nash, Harry Carney, Jimmy Jones, Billy Taylor, Shelly Manne, Al Casey, Al Hall, Bill Coleman, John Levy, Denzil Best.
Recorded in 1946 & 1947.
Personnel: Jimmy Jones (piano); Al Casey (guitar); Otto Hardwick (alto saxophone); Ted Nash, Budd Johnson (tenor saxophone); Harry Carney (baritone saxophone); Joe Thomas , Bill Coleman (trumpet); Lawrence Brown (trombone); Denzil Best, Bill Clark , Shelly Manne (drums).
Liner Note Author: Anatol Schenker.
Recording information: New York, NY (01/10/1946-??/??/1947).
Known for having accompanied Sarah Vaughan in various ensembles as early as 1946 and up until 1958, pianist, composer, and bandleader Jimmy Jones finally receives a decent tribute in this Classics chronological compilation. Two HRS dates serve as bookends for a succession of very uncommon recordings originally issued on the Wax label. (Four improvisational duets with bassist John Levy, said to have been recorded for the Session label in Chicago during August of 1944, are not included here, as they seem to have vanished.) The opening four tracks document a wonderful blowing session conducted on January 10, 1946, under the auspices of the Hot Record Society. In addition to trumpeter Joe Thomas and tenor man Ted Nash, there is a strong Ellington contingent present in trombonist Lawrence Brown, alto saxophonist Otto Hardwick, and a heavily featured Harry Carney, who composed "Old Juice on the Loose" and "Departure for Dixie." Anyone enamored of Carney's baritone sax virtuosity should investigate these tasty sides. The Ellington element continues to surface throughout Jones' Wax recordings made at indeterminate intervals throughout the year 1947. Otto Hardwick is billed as the leader on a gorgeous rendition of "Come Sunday" and Hardwick's original composition "I Remember Your Eyes"; trumpeter Bill Coleman sits in on a pair of tunes, including Ellington's "Five O'Clock Drag"; the Jimmy Jones Trio elucidates Ellington's "New World A-Comin'" and "When I Walk With You"; Jones delivers solo renderings of Ellington's "New York City Blues" and "On a Turquoise Cloud" as well as Juan Tizol's "Bakiff." On several occasions, guitarist Al Casey executes wonderful solos in a mature style grounded in but splendidly transcending his formative years with Fats Waller. Jimmy Jones was a superb chamber or lounge jazz pianist, comparable in some ways to Erroll Garner. He delivers a parcel of ballads by No‰l Coward; a gorgeous reading of Claude Debussy's "Claire de Lune"; and an interlude (sounding as though it could have been used in a film noir soundtrack) called "Empty Space," with a mysterious contribution by a female vocalist identified only as "Lynn." This remarkable retrospective closes with four titles from the second Jimmy Jones HRS session, this one featuring tenor saxophonist Budd Johnson. By August of 1947 Jones was writing some fairly modern, pleasantly unconventional, and harmonically advanced music. Budd Johnson, no stranger to postwar modern jazz, paddled effortlessly through the unusual changes. ~ arwulf arwulf

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 3307517130129
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)