Archie Bell & The Drells I Can't Stop Dancing / There's Gonna Be A Showdown

I Can't Stop Dancing / There's Gonna Be A Showdown
Get email alerts for Archie Bell & The Drells
6 ratings
SALE: $8.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $5.99 (40% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 7803
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic SD 8204 (1968)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic SD 8226 (1969)

Description by

A CD reissue of Archie Bell & The Drells' second and third albums, originally released on the Atlantic label in 1968 and 1969. The first (which hit #28 on the Billboard Black Albums chart) featured the Gamble-Huff efforts, "I Can't Stop Dancing" and "Do The Choo Choo." "There's Gonna Be A Showdown" also featured the magic of Kenny Gamble and Leon Huff, and was the group's last release before leaving Atlantic for the Philadelphia International label


  • 1.I Can't Stop Dancing
  • 2.(Sittin' On) The Dock Of The Bay
  • 3.Do The Choo Choo
  • 4.You'Re Such A Beautiful Child
  • 5.Monkey Time
  • 6.Do You Feel It?
  • 7.I'Ve Been Trying
  • 8.Jammin' In Houston
  • 9.Love Will Rain On You
  • 10.Sometimes I Wonder
  • 11.I Love My Baby
  • 12.Houston, Texas
  • 13.(There's Gonna Be A) Showdown
  • 14.Giving Up Dancing
  • 15.Girl You're Too Young
  • 16.Mama Didn't Teach Me That Way
  • 17.Do The Hand Jive
  • 18.My Balloon's Going Up
  • 19.Here I Go Again
  • 20.Go For What You Know
  • 21.Green Power
  • 22.Just A Little Closer

Product Description:

Personnel: Norman Harris, Roland Chambers (guitar); Leon Huff (piano); Thom Bell (organ); Bobby Martin (vibraphone); Earl Young (drums); Vince Montana (percussion).
Liner Note Authors: Don Sundeen; Elsa Hackey.
Recording information: Jones Sound Studio, Houston, TX; Sigma Sound Studios, Philadelphia, PA.
Arrangers: Bobby Martin ; Roland Chambers; Archie Bell.
While it lacks the band's biggest hit, "Tighten Up, Part One" (in which Archie Bell informs his listeners that he and his bandmates can dance just as good as they walk), this two-fer reissue of Archie Bell & the Drells' second and third albums for Atlantic captures the group at the height of their powers while including their other hits, "I Can't Stop Dancing," "Do the Choo-Choo" and "(There's Gonna Be A) Showdown." While soul music was starting to deal with more serious themes and taking on psychedelic accents in the late 1960s, Bell & the Drells are still old-school entertainers down to the bone on I Can't Stop Dancing, offering up floor-filling dance tunes with a slight lean towards funk such as "Do You Feel It" and "Jamming in Houston," while Kenny Gamble and Leon Huff added a bit of production polish on two cuts. (The album also includes an odd rewrite of "Sittin' on the Dock of the Bay" which moves the song from San Francisco to Germany, perhaps influenced by Bell's hitch in the service.) Gamble & Huff produced and arranged ten of the twelve tunes on There's Gonna Be a Showdown, and the results were a far more polished album, with a greater emphasis on Bell's soulful vocal style and the harmonies of the Drells (though there's still plenty of beach-friendly dance material on deck). If it lacks the grittier charms of Bell's earlier material, it also shows off a lot more of his vocal range, and the Philly-style arrangements are fine. A great package for followers of classic soul, though since it comes in at under an hour, couldn't Collectables have thrown in "Tighten Up" just for fun? ~ Mark Deming

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
I Can't Stop Dancing / There's Gonna Be A Showdown Music Lover: from Jacksonville,AR -- December, 13, 2007

I first heard this Group in late 69,just before I was shipped to NAM.I knew they were a Hit then.It's taken me over 30yrs. to catch up with them again,and there just as fresh and dynamic as ever.Truly a Classic act.Brings back a lot of good memories.

Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 5,053
  • UPC: 090431780329
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)