Stan Kenton In Hollywood (Live)

Get email alerts for Stan Kenton
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  ZCCH 0093
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 2, 1998
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Mr. Music


  • 1.Taboo
  • 2.I Didn't Know About You
  • 3.Tabby the Cat
  • 4.Our Waltz
  • 5.In a Little Spanish Town
  • 6.Sergeant's Mess
  • 7.Don't You Know I Care (Or Don't You Care to Know)
  • 8.And Her Tears Flowed Like Wine
  • 9.Together
  • 10.Russian Lullaby
  • 11.Five O'Clock Drag
  • 12.How Blue the Night
  • 13.Build It up and Tear It Down
  • 14.Clare de Lune
  • 15.Ride On
  • 16.I'll Remember April
  • 17.You Betcha!
  • 18.Opus a Dollar Three Eighty (Theme / Closing)

Product Description:

Personnel: Stan Kenton (piano); Gene Howard, Anita O'Day (vocals); Bob Ahern (guitar); Boots Mussulli, Eddie Meyers (clarinet, alto saxophone); Bob Lively, Chet Ball (alto saxophone); David Matthews, Emmett Carls, Stan Getz (tenor saxophone); Bob Gioga (baritone saxophone); Jon Carroll , Dick Morse, Gene Roland, Mel Green, John Carroll , Karl George, Buddy Childers (trumpet); George Faye, Freddie Zito, Harry Forbes, Bill Atkinson , Milt Kabak (trombone); Bart Varsalona (bass trombone); Jim Falzone, Jesse Price (drums).
Liner Note Author: Wayne Knight.
Recording information: Hollywod Palladium, CA (05/20/1944-12/06/1944); Hollywood Palladium (05/20/1944-12/06/1944); Hollywood, CA (05/20/1944-12/06/1944).
Photographer: Steve Harris .
Arrangers: Gene Howard; Joe Rizzo; Pete Rugolo; Stan Kenton.
1944 was an important transitional year for the Stan Kenton Orchestra. The World War II draft resulted in some turnover from the earlier Kenton big band; Anita O'Day became the group's new singer; Stan Getz emerged as their young tenor soloist (even if his fame would not really begin until joining Woody Herman a few years later); and, although not the powerhouse unit it soon become, Stan Kenton's Orchestra grew in popularity. This 1997 CD consists of two previously unreleased radio broadcasts that emanated from Hollywood in May and December of 1944. Anita O'Day (who, other than the hit "And Her Tears Flowed Like Wine," did not record all that much with Kenton) is heard on six numbers, as is the somewhat dated ballad singer Gene Howard; in addition, there are six instrumentals. The arrangements (by Kenton, Gene Howard, Dave Mathews, Joe Rizzo and the young Pete Rugolo, who contributed two charts) are not as adventurous as the ones to come, but they are still pretty modern for the pre-bop period. Getz and Mathews get some tenor solos; Karl George is the most notable of the trumpeters (which include the young Buddy Childers); and the Kenton Orchestra on the whole sounds pretty distinctive. Although not quite essential, this historic release should interest Stan Kenton fans and collectors. ~ Scott Yanow

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 2,304
  • UPC: 719866700725
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)